International Conference on

Cancer Therapy

Osaka, Japan   July 23-24, 2018

Jacques Miller

Jacques Miller

Professor Emeritus
Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research


Started his career in 1956 as a Junior Resident Medical Officer at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney, Professor Miller has served as the Professor, Chair of Experimental Immunology, University of Melbourne and the Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research. He is currently a Professor Emeritus at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and the University of Melbourne. Professor Jacques has also remained a WHO Expert Advisory Panel on Immunology till 2000. Awards and honours: 1965 Esther Langer-Bertha Teplitz Memorial Prize for Cancer Research Chicago. 1966 Gairdner Foundation Annual International Award - Toronto, Canada. 1966 Encyclopaedia Britannica (Australia) Award - Canberra, Australia. 1967 Scientific Medal of the Zoological Society of London - London, England. 1970 Elected Fellow of the Royal Society (London). 1970 Elected Fellow of Australian Academy of Science, Canberra, Australia. 1971 Burnet Medal of the Australian Academy of Science. 1974 Paul Ehrlich-Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize - Frankfurt, Germany. 1977 Honorary Member of the American Association of Immunologists. 1978 Sir William Upjohn Medal - University of Melbourne. 1978 Rabbi Shai Shacknai Memorial Prize, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel. 1981 Officer of the Order of Australia (A.O.) for distinguished services to Medicine. 1982 Elected Foreign Associate of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. 1983 International Saint-Vincent Prize for Medical Science, Italy, the World Health Organization and UNESCO. 1983 Elected Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia. 1986 Honorary Doctorate of Medicine, University of Sydney, Australia. 1990 Inaugural Sandoz Prize for Immunology. 1990 Inaugural Peter Medawar Prize of the Transplantation Society. 1991 Honorary Life Membership of the Australian Society for Immunology. 1991 Elected Corresponding Member of the Belgium Royal Academy of Science. 1992 Croonian Lecture of the Royal Society, the Society's premier prize lecture. 1992 Honorary Life Membership of the Transplantation Society of Australia & NZ 1995 J. Alwyn Taylor International Prize for Medicine, London, Ontario, Canada 1999 Elected Emeritus Member of the International Transplantation Society 1999 Elected Honorary Member of the German Society for Immunology 2000 Awarded the Faulding-Florey Medal and Prize, Adelaide, Australia 2001 Awarded the Copley Medal and Prize of the Royal Society, London, the Society’s highest award for outstanding achievement in any branch of Science. 2003 Awarded a Centenary medal for services to the community and immunology 2003 Appointed Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) 2003 Awarded the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science (Canberra, Australia) 2015 Awarded the ANZAAS medal

Research Interest

Immunology: Treg cells and Cancer immunotherapy

Related Conferenes